CACP Exam Information

About the Exam

For complete details about the CACP credentialling process, please download the CACP Candidate Handbook. Some key details about the process are described below.

The Certified Anticoagulation Care Provider Exam covers the 5 domains shown below, weighted according to domain content.

Domain I Applied Pathophysiology of Thromboembolic Disease 20%
Domain II Patient Assessment and Management 30%
Domain III Patient Education 20%
Domain IV Applied Pharmacology of Antithrombotic Agents 20%
Domain V Operational (Administrative) Procedures 10%

Objectives of Certification

The National Certification Board for Anticoagulation Providers (NCBAP) endorses voluntary certification of anticoagulation providers who meet education and patient-care requirements. The purpose of the certification process is to meet a societal need to protect public health and well being by:

  1. Providing an accepted assessment of current knowledge, skills and competencies necessary for individuals providing direct anticoagulation education and therapeutic management.
  2. Promoting individual professional growth and development in the practice of anticoagulation therapy.
  3. Nationally recognizing and validating anticoagulation providers who fulfill certification requirements.

This certification process is designed and intended for practitioners whose primary role as an anticoagulation provider includes systematic, organized, and on-going patient education and therapeutic management in the inpatient and/or outpatient setting.

Definition of Anticoagulation Provider Responsibilities

A Certified Anticoagulation Care Provider (CACP) is a health care professional who:

  • provides documentation of 750 hours of active anticoagulation patient management in the preceding 18 months prior to the application deadline
  • demonstrates achievement of advanced knowledge and skills by passing a comprehensive examination
  • has experience consistent with the applicant’s scope of practice for the state in which he/she practices

This set of knowledge and skills are routinely drawn upon in the course of education and managing patients receiving antithrombotic therapies. Specific competencies demonstrated by a Certified Anticoagulation Care Provider include:

  1. A working knowledge of the normal physiological processes of hemostasis and thrombosis, and the etiology, risk factors and clinical manifestations of pathologic thrombus formation
  2. Knowledge of the pharmacological properties of antithrombotic drugs
  3. Knowledge, skills and ability necessary to manage and monitor patients receiving antithrombotic therapies. This includes assessment of efficacy and potential toxicity, achievement of therapeutic goals, and evaluation of patient-related variables that affect therapy management.
  4. Ability to provide patient education regarding antithrombotic therapy, including: individualized patient assessment, formulation of an educational plan with specific goals and objectives, implementation of an educational plan, and assessment and evaluation of patient knowledge and skills pertaining to anticoagulation therapy

Certification Status and Use of Certification Mark

Only the National Certification Board confers the Certified Anticoagulation Care Provider (CACP) credential for Anticoagulation Providers.

Certification is a process granting recognition to an individual who has satisfactorily met all eligibility requirements and has passed the examination. After notification of passing the CACP Examination, an individual may use the mark "CACP" following his/her name as long as he/she maintains a current CACP credential.